Call: International Woolmark Prize 2021

The International Woolmark Prize is the world's most prestigious talent development award for rising fashion stars looking to shape a positive future for the fashion industry. Applications for the 2020/21 talent program are now open till 10th of June. 

Whilst no one knows the impact the current climate will have on the state of fashion, an increasing number of emerging brands are looking for new opportunities to ensure their future. Designers looking to shape a positive future for the fashion industry and strengthen their brand are encouraged to apply for this year’s Woolmark Prize.

Who can apply?

To apply, you must have been producing commercially available apparel for a minimum of 2 years and a maximum of 8 years (at the time of submitting an application). You should have consistent experience in working with and promoting best practice across apparel supply chains, show a yearly growth in sales and demonstrate an innovative use of fabrics and textiles.

What to include in your Woolmark Prize application:

Applications for the 2021 International Woolmark Prize must be no more than 10MB and include all of the following:

  • Lookbook: A PDF version of your latest two latest lookbooks. It should feature a minimum of 6 complete looks for each collection.
  • Logo and portrait: A high resolution (minimum width of 800px) copy of your brand logo and portrait of the brand's founder(s).
  • Reason for applying: 150 words or less detailing your motivation to apply for the International Woolmark Prize.
  • Brand overview: Include essential details such as number of collections produced, registered trading address, contact details and press coverage including up to 20 articles where relevant.
  • Current stockists: Provide a list of all current stockists, including their locations.
  • Experience with wool: Detail how you've worked with wool including any innovative or sustainable practices. Previous experience with Merino wool is not a prerequisite for application

Advisory Council

All applications will be reviewed by an Advisory Council of industry experts, committed to discovering and nurturing outstanding achievers in fashion. The Advisory Council will look for designers in the early stages of their career who have shown promise and dedication in growing a sustainable business, though are yet to be established in a global sense.


Ten finalists from any country across the world will be chosen to participate in the final event in early 2021. Each finalist will receive AU$70,000 to develop a capsule collection which highlights the innate versatility, innovative nature and eco-credentials of Merino wool.

Finalists will take part in The Woolmark Company’s Innovation Academy, a robust 18-month education and mentoring program, offering unparalleled access to International Woolmark Prize partners and advisors supporting product development, research and development, business and sustainability strategies to assist in the development of their collections and brands.

Prize fund

The total combined prize fund for the 2021 International Woolmark Prize stands at AU$1 million, with the overall winner awarded AU$200,000, and the winner of the Karl Lagerfeld Award for Innovation being awarded an additional prize fund of AU$100,000. Winners and finalists will also have the opportunity to have their Merino wool capsule collections commercialised and sold in the world’s top boutiques and department stores through the International Woolmark Prize’s extensive Retail Partner Network.


19 juni 2020


The Woolmark Company



Andere activiteiten